shape
carat
color
clarity

Best bang for my buck. Is buying online worth all the hype?

BrilliantDummie

Rough_Rock
Hello, I am new to the web site but am armed with months of studying diamond qualities in hopes of making my first purchase for an e-ring.

I have been shopping everywhere from mall stores to online retailers. The setting my gf and I settled on is from Shane Co (http://www.shaneco.com/Jewelry-Catalog/Design-Your-Own/Rings/Engagement-Rings/Swirl/Product-Detail.aspx?X=41065254). My friends who have recently purcahsed their diamond from Shane Co have been raving about them and I have not seen any reviews to point me in the opposite direction. I have read a multitude of bad reviews, complaints, and comments but all date as far back as 2004 and were concentrated in the time before Shane Co went bankrupt and had to re-structure their company. From what I can see, after restructurnig, paying off debt successfully, and rebuilding their image most of the comments since 2010 have been nothing but positive, 5 star, happy customers (at least in my location of San Jose, California).

In addition, the selection of diamonds while limited, seems to be priced competitively at ShaneCo considering I stick to their selection of Ideal Cuts (not Shane Classics which really are overpriced). As such, is there really any reason why I should shy away from Shane Co (especially considering their great warranties, policies, and services if I buy the diamond with them)?

My budget is around $5500-$6500 but I am willing to go higher for better qulity. I am trying to get as close to 1.00ct as possible but it is ok if I am under. Also ok if I am over the 100 point mark =) Looking for something in G-H color, VS1-SI1 clarity, GIA certified Triple Excellent, good HCA score (below a 2.0), and smehow for all of this to be under some kind of warranty.