shape
carat
color
clarity

Asscher cut evaluation

briggysmalls

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone!

First off, I’m so grateful to all the knowledgable people contributing to this forum. I’ve really enjoyed studying the threads here. I also owe the folks over in “coloured gems” a thanks, as they warned me about soft emeralds being unsuitable for an engagement ring!

So now I feel ready to appeal for help. I’ve got some requirements, and tried to identify some good diamonds that I’d really appreciate a second opinion on. I'm a total novice, so it's likely I'm going to say something stupid. I warmly invite the experts here to correct my errors. With any luck this might become a useful thread for others like me in the future.

Finally, once again. Thank you to everyone here for being so generous with their time and expertise. I'm already indebted. And that's before any potential responses!

Requirements
  • Natural diamond
  • Asscher cut
  • Budget preferably <=$31k. But could reach to ~$35k if something was worth it!
  • ~3ct weight
  • Colour - I’ve considered G-I. I don’t think my partner is that sensitive to colour. In fact she likes pale fancy yellow diamonds
  • Clarity - I’ve considered VS2 and up (but perhaps at this size I should be considering higher?)
  • A softer preference for a smaller table. We saw some IRL and liked how this reduced the glassy “glare”
  • A softer preference for larger vs smaller cut corners
  • I’m based in the UK, so I anticipate ordering online and having to evaluate on arrival & return if not pleasing. Unless there's some better suggestions.

Good options

Below I've shared my top 3 options. I have supplied links to the 360 video, and added notes that attempt to "show my working" on analysing the cut against my criteria (if interesting, see next section for criteria).

This is where I'd really be grateful for any corrections in errors trying to evaluate the cut.

Name/linkPhoto360 videoProsCons