shape
carat
color
clarity

Antique Store Ruby Bargain?

lapin

Rough_Rock
Trade
Hello everyone! After reading posts here for years, I finally took the plunge and made an account.

So, I was browsing one of my regular local "stuff" stores (antiques, art, clothes, jewelry, etc.) and they have a vendor who resells estate jewelery at very reasonable and often negotiable prices. Most of it is beautiful but rather un-noteworthy, though I have bought some beautiful solid gold pieces.

This time though, he had an old deco-ish platinum ring, set with small diamonds but centering the *sparkliest* deep scarlet ruby. Since he flips estate gems and jewels, the info he gives is fairly minimal. He claims it is a 1.34 carat natural ruby, but there's no cert, origin, or details outside of that. I don't think he certs anything because this a side hustle hobby, but the ring is so pretty. I am NO ruby expert, but I know this one leans a lil deep and maybe purple-y? But my goodness does it sparkle, so much so that it made me suspicious. What do you guys think of the color from what you can tell?

2023-08-23 09_52_46.237-0500.jpg

Priced at a cool $1500, which is enough to be expensive, but low for even a modest ruby of similar size.

2023-08-23 09_53_54.318-0500.jpg

This and a diamond navette are the two most expensive items he currently has. I wish I had grabbed more pictures, but this is all I can give for now, and he doesn't have a regular storefront/phone. I can't get it out of my head, but the price seems to good to be true, even if its heated, but the shop and guy are good people.

2023-08-23 09_56_42.677-0500.jpg

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts on the ruby itself! I keep daydreaming that its just some undiscovered heated burmese or thai ruby, but its just as possible its some heavily treated mystery stone too!

glitterata

Ideal_Rock