shape
carat
color
clarity

Another thread by a guy who wants some advice from PS forum goers

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

fannibal

Rough_Rock
Hi guys, I am new to PS and I''ve spent the last few weeks looking at diamonds, and spent the last few days getting quotes and seriously looking into buying a specific diamond. I want to thank all of you ahead of time for all your help!

I am currently interested in these diamonds and I was hoping you guys can help me decide which one is the best:

.93carat, G, VS2, H&A for ~$5500 from Good old gold
http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/3038/

Or, I am also considering a 1.02 carat, H, VS1, H&A for ~$5800 from James Allen
http://www.jamesallen.com/diamond.asp?cid=131&item=1060576

Here are my current thoughts about the 2 diamonds- the .93c one has a better balance of color and clarity, and is cheaper. The .93carat jump up to 1.02 carat only gives me less than .2mm width and .2mm length increase, which is hardly noticeable. Also, the GOG web site has a lot of charts and information about the specific diamond''s light performance, so I can be guaranteed that the cut is excellent. The James allen 1.02 diamond is relatively cheaper by the carat, is bigger(my to be fiance will be able to claim that it is a heavy 1 carat). The James allen diamond has a idealscope image that is hearts only, whereas the GOG diamond contains more information than I can digest, all telling me that its a perfect diamond. So guys, what shall it be, bigger diamond that might not be as well cut, or smaller diamond(and cheaper) that is definately extremely well cut? once again, thanks in advance for all your input!

-Fannibal

Hest88

Ideal_Rock
I think the GOG is the winner. The size diff is negligible, and it''s cheaper and quite pretty.

Ellen

Super_Ideal_Rock
I''d say go with the GOG stone, unless you think bragging rights is worth the extra. Both are pretty stones.

Gypsy