shape
carat
color
clarity

Alexandrite E-ring in the making

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

alexring

Rough_Rock
Normally I'm a forum lurker but on this one occasion I am going to try to get all the advice I can.

I'm in the early stages of getting an alexandrite engagement ring made for my unsuspecting girlfriend. I was a complete gem newbie about a month ago but at this point I know a little bit (about alexandrites anyway).

Generally I get really into major projects like this and have been spending every waking moment (when not in my girlfriend's presence) learning about the different gem stones. I've finally decided that I want it to be an alexandrite.

Next up, I have been browsing pictures of gem stone rings, to see if I can find something I like. I was looking mostly at modest size stones, since we both generally like simpler things, and because alexandrites are worth a fortune. I thinking of a three stone ring as she has shortish fingers and I like the look of them too. I stumbled upon this picture (I'm not sure where) and really liked it. The centre stone is 0.4 carats. I'd like to hear your opinions as to whether this could work as and E-ring (the picture should be attached).

Where I've really been spending my time is looking for the stone. Since its going to be a small stone, I want it to be really top quality. I'm hoping for 0.39 to 0.49 carat stone in oval cut. In alexandrites, colour is most important so I'm looking for 95% colour change from blue-Green to violet or reddish purple.