shape
carat
color
clarity

Spinel experts, I'm looking for my first spinel

CHRISTY-DANIELLE

Ideal_Rock
I'm looking to buy my first spinel, probably violet to pink. But the range of options is overwhelming and the prices are all over the map. I want a good color, good cut, eye clean.
I found two, one is a nice color and big size for a someday ring project I have in mind. Just under 1k.
The other , well she was a surprise. A 1 ct pear. 1200. Not at all what I thought I was looking for, but I keep looking at it. So tempted.
So do you have advice, preferred spinel vendors? I've looked at a lot of the usual vendors. I'm new to colored gems so worry about making an expensive mistake. 20181001_155407.png 20181001_155503.png

Mrs_Strizzle

Brilliant_Rock
These are beautiful. While I recognize the first stone, I have never purchased from them but have about 17 "hearted", lol.

The color on the second seems like it could be amazing, although with only one pic it could be much darker irl. And kinda small. You may be disappointed in the actual size of a 1 ct.

Good luck in your search! Spinel is absolutely my favorite colored stone. I own about 30 loose stones I probably won't ever set, I just like to oogle them!

Arcadian

Ideal_Rock
Premium
The pear will be on the darker side. You'll have to decide if you're going to be ok with that.

The one above will likely be about what you're looking for in terms of color and light enough to be seen in just about all lights. Bit of a bowtie though not really too terrible (it might be worse in person but you'd have to see in person) It may end up being more pink in most lights than a true purple. I like violet which runs more blue but the risk is that you can also get much more grey in the stone.

CHRISTY-DANIELLE

Ideal_Rock
Thanks for the responses. I am not the best at judging the cut or color (Still learning!) That oval is pretty close to the color I want, but it looks a little lifeless? Didn't really thrill me.