shape
carat
color
clarity

2nd diamond- sizeand shape

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

kmasciarelli

Rough_Rock
I am going to buy a second diamond which will be my last.Don''t intend on wearing it all the time because I work in healthcare but want another diamond for special occasions I have a small finger, 4 1/2. I am [email protected] carat round or oval. In your opinion which shape would look nicest?- Went to a jeweler who said that is big enough for my size finger. So far, have only seen the diamond not what it will look like on my finger and don''t want to feel it is too small later on. Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

NewYorker

Shiny_Rock
That will look huge on your tiny finger!!!! Go with something smaller, like 1.5 ct. Unless, of course, you like people staring at your hand wondering how your finger is strong enough to carry such a big stone.

diamondlil

Ideal_Rock
Wow, a 2.25 round would be wonderful! And if it gets too heavy for your hand, wear a sling.
9.gif
2.gif

Diamondlil

hoorray

Ideal_Rock
I just went through the same thing. The hardest part of buying over the web was comparing sizes to know what would look best. I took the larger route (2.5c), and it ended up looking HUGE. It is set in a simple cathedral size 5 setting, and it looks much bigger now that it is set than when it was loose.

I love the stone and the ring. I have gotten used to the size
wink2.gif
and am very happy with it, but I know now that I could have gone with anything between 2 and 2.5 to achieve the look we were looking for. (The original stone was 1.25, so my better half wanted a visible increase from there, and was determined that this be "perfect" so that we never upgraded again.)