shape
carat
color
clarity

Difference''s in pave rings that are handmade vs. cast?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mrssalvo

Super_Ideal_Rock
In light of this recent thread I was wondering if maybe the experts can chime in on the differences between handmade pave and cast peices and if this does or does not have anything to do with this type of thing occuring. Is it random and can happen to any piece handmade or not? I understand that pave rings are more delicate and one should be careful when wearing them no matter how they are made. I am just curious if type of piece is stuctually stronger because of how it''s made. I know handmade is normally more expensive but thought that was do to the labor, not just materials. Any, I would love it if those familiar could help educate me
1.gif

Thanks

Shay37

Ideal_Rock
Mrs. S, forgive me as I am not an expert. I will just add my experience with thin pave in plat, if you don''t mind. My ring was a prototype, and Brian the cutter was adamant that I almost "abuse" the ring if you will. He had me do things wearing it that I really didn''t want to do. He did this to see if it would and could indeed hold up to demands placed on that style of setting. I had to (gasp) wash dishes and do housecleaning in it. Ordinarily, I would have taken off my ring as I don''t like them gummed up. On the other hand, I would have ordinarily worn it to work, which is hysterical considering that I carry heavy equipment and a briefcase and a laptop case to work in. I know. It doesn''t make sense. But I am OCD when it comes to my ring being clean. (there are others here. You know who you are)
2.gif
I was not worried about the lifting because I make a habit of doing it in such a way that my ring doesn''t take the brunt.