shape
carat
color
clarity

Your opinion on this pink sapphire, please..

Efriede

Shiny_Rock
Hi all! I am colored stone total newbee and seek for your help in finding a nice small sapphire as a substitute for the center stone in my three stone ring. The dimensions I am looking are 6 to 6.1 mm stone to fit in the setting. I would really love to have an unheated untreated stone with great vivid color, blue or pink.

So far I found one contender that looks promising and I kindly ask your opinion on it.

It is 6.1x3.6mm untreated unheated portuguese cut deep pink magente sapphire. It comes without any report, so I am thinking to let the vendor send it to AGL to obtain the AGL brief report on it. That would add about 100$ to the stone. Do you think it is reasonable to do it or I just go with the vendor word for it. The stone itself is not very expensive from what I have seen so far online for about one carat untreated sapphire. It is 570$.

sapphire_pink_430-300a.jpg

sapphire_pink_430-300b.jpg

I love this vivid color and wonder if it looks as nice IRL..

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I agree with the description of a deep pink magenta colour. The saturation, while not vivid, is still quite strong with a darker (but not dark) tone. I am not sure why the addition of the AGL brief will cost you an additional $100. If I am not mistaken, it should only cost you $55. Personally, I would fork up the extra for a piece of mind. Even though my little sapphire was $300, I still requested a lab memo to be sure the treatment (or lack of) was verified because sapphires are the most treated gemstone in the market.

Any chance of a hand shot of the sapphire? Have you asked the vendor about the indoor versus outdoor colour of the stone?

Efriede

Shiny_Rock