shape
carat
color
clarity

Your impressions of this garnet. I’m a newbie, but it’s my birthstone.

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
Hi all,

I always have my eye out for a pretty red garnet when I am in any BM store. Since joining PS, I realize there are many types and colors of garnets. I’m guessing the rhodolites are one of the least expensive garnets as they seem to be the most prolific in BM stores. The darkness and dull look has always put me off. I just saw this ring on Gene’s site and was wondering what you think of it. I would set it as a casual, everyday type of ring.

I read the post on being new to CS, which I am. So, what do you think, or do you have any other suggestions. I could go up to around $750.

I also picked up a tourmaline from Gene about 2 weeks ago. It just came in so I will make another post about that because I would love some ideas for settings.

Thank you!

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I like it! And if it isnt what you want IRL you can return

LilAlex

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I like it, too. Rhodolite can be dark so I expect it will look more like the first photo in then listing most of the time.

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
Thank you. I'm so used to looking at diamonds that I'm not sure about colored gems. I know Gary is someone you all trust with cutting, so maybe I'l contact him and get his IRL impression.

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
So. I've made my inquiry to Gary. In the meantime, it says it should fit in a 9mm calibrated setting. Does that mean I don't need a custom setting for the octagon cut? Are there some vendors you would recommend where I could look for some ready made settings? Thanks.

fredflintstone

Brilliant_Rock
Nice cut, though I would say medium dark in tone. Guess you won't know if you don't try it.

2Neezers

Brilliant_Rock
Premium