shape
carat
color
clarity

Young picker finds ruby ring, need help!

young_buck

Rough_Rock
Hi all, im an 18 year old flea market, auction, estate sale frequenter and i usually pick up anything that catches my eye. There was a lot of jewelry for sale and i got a lot for pretty cheap and this 14k Burmese ruby ring was in it. It looks real, but i am no expert, thats why i am here!:) i hope someone here can help me because i would like to sell it one day or just hold onto it for a while. I just dont want to sell someone a fake ring or if its real i do not want to get burned. I just want to say thank you in advance for anyone who can give me some insightful information on this ring.

YB

*I apologize for the phone camera pictures, if they are not good enough i will try and get better ones.*

photo_1_2.jpg

photo_2_6.jpg

photo_3_1.jpg

photo_5_0.jpg

young_buck

Rough_Rock
More pics. Thanks again!

photo_4_2.jpg

photo_6_0.jpg

_2595.jpg

young_buck

Rough_Rock
some better pictures.

photo__2_7.jpg

photo_7_1.jpg

photo_8_0.jpg

photo__3_8.jpg

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Congrats on looking for bargains and taking risks! A friend of mine does this regularly and turned up a very valuable piece of Clarice Cliff! Anyway, back to your ring .............. a few things for you to know:-

1. Just because it has a label saying it's a "Burmese Ruby", that doesn't mean it is!
2. The Ruby looks highly included so that suggests it's not an expensive stone.
3. The colour is quite pink BUT that could be your photos.
4. Rubies can be dyed, filled, treated to become something they're not etc etc etc.
5. There are lots and lots of synthetics and simulants on the market that you can't necessarily tell just by looking.

Please read the sticky at the top of this forum re buying coloured gemstones. That'll give you an idea what you need to know.