shape
carat
color
clarity

Would you spend $30k on an F2 treated emerald?

pudgethefish

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone, I would appreciate if anyone could weigh in on this emerald I am tempted to buy from JR Colombian Emeralds. I went to their store in FL and handled it in person, and it was absolutely stunning to my naked eye, especially compared to the other emeralds they showed me in person. But, of course, I am a gem amateur and beyond “it’s so pretty” I don’t really have any expertise anyway, the original cert they had from Colombia said “minor oil” but I paid them to send to GIA and it came back “F2” which from my understanding poring through the posts on this forum, is not very desirable. I also have no idea what a window is, but I understand that to be undesirable as well, and I bet this emerald has one. Can anyone tell me?

My primary concern is I want to make a big beautiful ring that I can pass down to my kids and grandkids, so I don’t want the emerald to change in appearance significantly over time, which I understand can happen with F2 treated gems. I’m not concerned about reselling the gem, so I wouldn’t go for untreated - but is it worth waiting for a smaller gem with only F1 treatment? Also, if I were to buy this particular F2 emerald, would $30k be outrageous? I know JR is a reputable seller but I just want to know if this would be a $30k waste of money and I should hold out for a smaller but “better” emerald. That being said I love how this emerald looked in person, but maybe it’s because I am a peasant without good taste

Thank you all for your help!

Video here:

GIA report here: