shape
carat
color
clarity

Would love help buying diamond studs

Nelly4

Rough_Rock
I have made the decision to buy myself some diamond studs (while I can afford it) and I have sent off some emails for ideas about what I can get for my budget. I have approximately $1500 to spend.

I am looking for white gold, martini settings and I assume I can get around a 0.30 - 0.40ct diamond stud for that amount. (Please let me know if I am wrong)

Does anyone have any opinions on these specifications?
1st pair
0.344, G, SI1 and ideal cut
0.348, G, SI1 and ideal cut

2nd pair
0.323, F, VS2 and ideal cut

Will there be that much difference between the two pairs or does it depend on all the other specifications as well? Sorry, I'm still new to this so want to get the right ones that I will be happy with forever. If anyone has any suggestions that would be so helpful.

Thanks!

antelope1

Brilliant_Rock
Personal opinion: Studs are on your ears, so the color and clarity are less important. For a RB (I assume you want rounds in martinis), I personally would go down to an I color, SI1 (or even SI2 for earrings). Carat size matters more to me than how white they are against my ears (but I have "olive" skin, so most things look whiter on me than on super pale people).

I also think that you're right that you want to stick to ideal cut. Unfortunately, you haven't given us enough information to evaluate the cut -- just as with a solitaire, depth %, table %, crown angles, etc (everything that goes into HCA) is enough to start with, but when you get down to finalists, you will probably want Idealscope and/or ASETs to really make sure that your ears sparkle as much as possible.

Good luck!

Nelly4

Rough_Rock
Thanks so much for that - I thought I could probably get away with a H or I if they are in my ears but wanted to check. Yes, I am looking for round ones.

I have found 2 more diamonds that may be suitable