shape
carat
color
clarity

Will VCA earrings hold their value?

Gatorsmom

Rough_Rock
Hi! I'm a jewelry-obsessed new member and this is my first post. I'm new to this jewelry- buying business and was hoping some of you aficionados could help me. My DH would like to buy me a nice mothers' day present and I've been drooling over these: http://www.vancleefarpels.com/content/vca/us/usa/en/home/collections/jewelry/flying-beauties/oiseaux-de-paradis/vcarn9p900-nid-de-paradis-earstuds.html I love them but my DH is afraid they will lose value because there is such a high markup on jewelry. I argued that because they come from a well- known jeweler they won't lose value. Who is right?

And I'd like to ask if you had the chance would you buy them? Or would you buy something else for that amount? TIA!

Rhea

Ideal_Rock
Premium
That's a bit of a trick question and I'm hoping someone will come along who can answer it better than I can.

Yes, they will hold some value because they are VC&A and if you ever sell them you would get more than you would with non-name brand.

No, because you're paying more for name brand to begin with so even though you'd get more, the percentage of what you're getting may be the same or similar when compared to non-name brand jewellery which cost less. Unless it's a very special, one-off, highly coveted piece of jewellery you will never be able to sell them for what you spent on them through a retail store. This is a great thread talking about some of the problems with people expecting diamonds to hold the value of what they paid retail for them [URL='https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/freakonomics-diamond-auction.212418/#post-3864213#p3864213']https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/freakonomics-diamond-auction.212418/#post-3864213#p3864213[/URL]