shape
carat
color
clarity

why do college students count their chickens....

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
before they hatch?
20.gif
i get this feeling from talking to some of my friend's kids,my niece and nephew
38.gif
they already thinking about buying this and that luxury items.
23.gif
they think is easy find a well paid job right after they graduate from college.i told them...life ain't that easy. don't count your chickens before they hatch.

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I don't know, DF. When I graduated college, I got a job and assumed i was free of my parents for life. And I pretty much was, financially. I remember thinking that it wasn't their job anymore to take care of me, and that's how it worked out, except for our wedding, which they helped with immensely.
9.gif

I did get a well-paid job after college, but never assumed that my parents would bail me out of anything. They had always baild me out of things when I was in high school, and I didn't expect or want that after I graduated college. I loved being on my own and knowing that I didn't have to rely on them anymore.

Rhapsody

Shiny_Rock
Deluded self confidence maybe?
11.gif
They know a friend who got a job making X, or they googled it and founded average salary for the position is X and they assume they wont have any problem finding a job. Or keeping a job. Until you''ve been out in the work force and been laid off (both my boyfriend and I were downsized) you don''t really think about these things happening to you.

My boyfriend and I definitely endulged in some luxury items when we got out of school. but we budgeted for them, bought them in cash (or if it went on a credit card paid it off before the 30 day grace period) and budgeted for house savings, general savings and retirement/401k first.