shape
carat
color
clarity

Which size food processor? 16 or 12 cup?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

HappyAnniversary

Shiny_Rock
I bought the Williams and Sonoma Cuisinart Elite 12 cup with a 4cup insert bowl. Now I am thinking I shoulda bought the 16 cup with a 13 and 4 cup inset and box for the blades. I have never used a FP before, and space is an issue, the bigger one is quite heavy. Please tell me 12 cups is enough for most uses, I wouldn''t mind occasionally having to do things in 2 batches, but not always. Oh, and no big family, almost empty nesters, but of course holidays mean more people.

Also any wisdom on recipes-- And what are you all using it for? I dreamed of cutting up carrots, onions and celery all night long.

ljmorgan

Brilliant_Rock
I have the 16 cup, but that is because I wanted the dough cycle. For chopping, dicing, shredding, the 12 cup will be plenty! Enjoy, it''s a great processor.

I make pizza dough, fast pie crusts, puree huge batches of watermelon (for watermelon lemonade), shred my own cheese (cheaper than pre-shredded), make coleslaw, shred potatoes for hashbrowns (no more frozen shredded potatoes for me!) I use it for salsa which is very fast, pureeing soups, and of course chopping vegetables. I love it!

HappyAnniversary

Shiny_Rock
Thanks for answering Lindsay! Dough cycle? Explain please, mine doesn''t have it ?, it is a special cycle or just not big enough? I only make 2 loaves at a time and use my Kitchenaid mixer. Might that fit in the 12 cup?

elrohwen

Ideal_Rock
I have a Cuisinart 11 cup and I find it to be an appropriate size for almost anything I need to use it for (it's only me and DH at home, so I'm not making huge recipes either). The only thing I need to do in two batches is mashed potatoes or something.