shape
carat
color
clarity

Which ASET Scope??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

domgbrown

Rough_Rock
I want to purchase an ASET scope to help me purchase a princess cut stone. I learned a lot from John Quixote on the forums, but there I''m confused as to which ASET Scope I should get. There is a discontinued handheld model available on several websites and a new handheld model available on the AGS website. Which one is better for my purposes? I am not an expert and just want to compare several princess cut stones to determine the best light return. I will be in the store when I am using it as well. Does anyone have experience with the new handheld ASET?

New handheld ASET: http://www.agsaid.net/pas.aspx#

Old handheld ASET: http://www.ideal-scope.com/cart_zoom_item.asp?Id=23&ShowAdd=Y

Thank you very much for any help you can provide. This website is a life saver!
9.gif

oldminer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
The one on the Ideal-scope site is the original model made by Garry Holloway for the AGS. It is the working component of the current AGS Presentation model which sells for $599.00. AGS used to sell the $50 model for $100 to non-AGS members and for $50 to AGS Members only. It is a very fair deal for $50.

The AGS'' current handheld unit is too small in diameter to work well with larger diamonds. As stones increase in size, the diameter of the ASET becomes a "problem" as the angles of incident light change. I don''t know how large a diamond can get before the small, hand held unit begins to give increasingly incorrect images.

On small diamonds, both tools probably will give very similar results.

elmo

Brilliant_Rock
I don't care for the smaller/newer handheld ASET at all. The image doesn't look much like the result from the desktop model. I haven't tried it on a wide range of stone sizes though.

Regular Guy

Ideal_Rock