clarity

What period do you think this is?

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
1800s, maybe? What does the seller say?

RRfromR

Brilliant_Rock
@Mreader it is a ruby and the blindest buy of all the buys :lol:. It came up at a probate sale and the company that handled the probate specializes in farm equipment, so they are trying to find more things about it. I just thought it was really pretty, despite the obvious grime.

LightBright

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Novice here. It looks like a Burma ruby and Georgian Era diamonds - even the tiny ones are really old - the squarish ones are “transitioning out of Peruzzi and into Mine cuts”. My guess is Victorian use of much older diamonds and a real ruby due to that “spoke style” which I don’t think is Georgian. I wish we had some historic jewelry resources to check styles against!

OR, a big maybe, it’s a Repro using newly cut Indian/Turkish cut diamonds. But that’s a lot of diamonds for a Repro ring. I’m puzzled because I don’t recognize that style as Victorian or Georgian. Does anyone know what Era this NSEW placement of larger halo diamonds come from? I didn’t think even Victorian.

Last edited:

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Just looking at the diamonds which are very old indeed I’d say pre 1850! Of course they could have reused them in a later piece. The ring design looks more recent.

glitterata

Ideal_Rock
I agree that the diamonds look older than the setting. My guess of late Victorian or Edwardian was premised on the white metal being silver, which it looks like to me, and on what look like open backs and plain, milgrained bezels rather than collet settings. Georgian and earlier rings would likely have closed backs and collet settings. If the white metal is white gold or platinum, I'm changing my guess to Edwardian or early art deco. And I wonder if it's a stickpin conversion, as @JPie suggests.

LightBright

Brilliant_Rock
Premium