shape
carat
color
clarity

WF''s 8-prong vs. 3-prong martini for stud earrings

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

hozo

Rough_Rock
Hi, I''m a complete newbie looking for diamond stud earrings as a gift. After reading numerous old posts from the search, I found the general advice for newbies like me seems to be WhiteFlash''s "expert selection/ready to go." My question is how do their 8-prong martini settings look? All the old posts recommended 3-prong martini over 4-prong basket, but they never mentioned the 8-prong. As an engineer, the 8-prong looks beautiful in its construction and symmetry. But then again, I can''t say I know any engineers turned fashion designers. I''m looking to get the .7 or .8 ct TW so my stones would look smaller than the picture.

gi_WFER-AE200-Set_m.jpg
Vs.
gi_WFER-22641-SET_m.jpg

Your recommendations? 8-prong or 3-prong for 0.7/0.8 ct tw stud earrings?

Thanks!

cpster

Brilliant_Rock
With those sized stones, I would stick to the three prong setting. I think the 8 prong setting would overpower the stones.

ETA: Have you considered the 3 prong handmade martini setting? They look even lighter than the ones you posted.

aljdewey

Ideal_Rock
Date: 8/8/2006 5:48:26 PM
Author:hozo

My question is how do their 8-prong martini settings look? All the old posts recommended 3-prong martini over 4-prong basket, but they never mentioned the 8-prong. As an engineer, the 8-prong looks beautiful in its construction and symmetry. But then again, I can''t say I know any engineers turned fashion designers. I''m looking to get the .7 or .8 ct TW so my stones would look smaller than the picture.

Your recommendations? 8-prong or 3-prong for 0.7/0.8 ct tw stud earrings?
Hozo, I''ve seen the 8-prongs in person.....in fact, HERE is a thread that has pictures of what they look like with 1.50 ctw stones (.75 each).