shape
carat
color
clarity

Weird inclusion in my diamond

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mayerling

Ideal_Rock
Hi everyone,

I''m new to PS and was wondering whether somebody might help shed some light on what this thing is that I can see when I look at my diamond.

My diamond is a VS1, which makes me think that inclusions shouldn''t be visible, but when I look at it at an angle I can see some pretty dark lines forming a Y shape (east-west). Anyone have any idea of what that might be? I tried to take pics of it but haven''t succeeded. To give you a better idea, the lines only show when I hold the diamond about half a foot away and at shoulder level (so face up it''s fine), and show in some lighting environments but not in others.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
1.gif

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 3/5/2010 3:29:43 PM
Author:DVS1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to PS and was wondering whether somebody might help shed some light on what this thing is that I can see when I look at my diamond.

My diamond is a VS1, which makes me think that inclusions shouldn't be visible, but when I look at it at an angle I can see some pretty dark lines forming a Y shape (east-west). Anyone have any idea of what that might be? I tried to take pics of it but haven't succeeded. To give you a better idea, the lines only show when I hold the diamond about half a foot away and at shoulder level (so face up it's fine), and show in some lighting environments but not in others.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
1.gif
Just wondering if it might be the girdle reflection? Does it look like the image below?

DSC_0092.JPG

mayerling

Ideal_Rock
Hi Lorelei,