shape
carat
color
clarity

Used setting advice

Diamond_14

Rough_Rock
Hi all. I’m considering looking for a used setting for a round stone I have. Does anyone have any advice on what I would want to know while looking? This is my first time doing something like this. :)

I imagine I need to look for something that is made for a round stone and is about the same size as my Diamond? How close in size does it need to be would you say? My stone is about 1.3-1.4 carats.

I am assuming I can take a used setting and the stone to a jeweler and have it set most likely?

Thank you so much and I appreciate any input you can give. :)

LorettaB

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
You are looking for a semi-mount, preferably used. If you take the stone to your jeweler they can tell you what size semi-mount stone setting you should be looking for. Then, the person selling the semi-mount should also inform you about what size stone the semi-mount will hold. Some jewelers may be able to adjust the size of the head to fit the stone, and that would be ok too. I happened to luck up with a loose diamond a while back that fit a mounting for a ring I already owned. I had the diamond for several years and thought about replacing the colored stone and I was ecstatic when my jeweler did his measurements and said the diamond would fit. FINALLY, it had the home it deserved and the ring looks so much better! If I were you I would go see my jeweler first and see what he recommends for you. A good jeweler is worth their weight in gold!!

Diamond_14

Rough_Rock