shape
carat
color
clarity

Total Newbie - Setting for OMC heirloom

N3A2S1A

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I was fortunate to have my soon to be fiances mother hand down a diamond ring that has been in the family for over 100yrs. I was told it was an old miners cut. Here are more details from the appraisal.

Round Brilliant cut
Measures : 6.9mmx4.4mm
Weight: 1.30cts
Color: J
Clarity: SI1

Right now it is mounted in a 14K yellow-gold solitaire.

My questions are

1. should I get it reset in another setting or can this setting be used and sized up or down depending on finger size
2. If i do get it reset, I wanted to order this http://www.exceldiamonds.com/-Engagement-Rings-5/Solitaire-Diamond-Engagement-Rings-11/6-Prong-Knife-Edge-Solitaire-Setting-1303.html?vid=2983232 in plat or white gold and use a local jeweler to reset it. Would this work with an antique OMC diamond?
3. Question number 2 stemmed from advice not to buy ring online because it may not work with the stone because of its unusual cut and size.

Thank you so much for the help!

omc_top.jpg
omc_side.jpg

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Wow! You're lucky to be getting a family heirloom as part of your engagement ring!

The setting your ring is looks like a pretty straight-forward solitaire setting, and you should be able to have it sized up or down a few sizes. However, since (I assume) the setting has been worn before, possibly for several years or more, you should start by having it checked out carefully by a trusted jeweler to make sure the prongs are in good shape and that there are no dangerously weak or worn spots in the ring.