shape
carat
color
clarity

Too good to be true ?

Lunean

Rough_Rock
Hey, I had a bit of fun on auctions : lost this one but the winner did not pay and the seller approached me to see if I was still interested. I love the blue of the stone but I find this extremely cheap for the size, overall quality and the fact it is unheated as stated by the Lotus certificate. The only real downside I see is that the stone is cut really deep. Is there a catch I don't see ? Any opinion ?

Rfisher

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Compare what the lotus report states for tone and saturation
To what lotus gives as their scale
To what you see on the listing photo.

IMG_4613.jpeg
IMG_4612.jpeg

I have no experience with that seller.
If the lotus report is valid to the stone
I just think they are overselling the color, more so that just close to equator environmental lighting in their favor.

Along with being deep as you noted, the video doesn’t work for me, so also hard to say if there’s any zoning that would be distracting.

I 100% agree with @Rfisher. I trust Lotus, so I would be comfortable knowing the stone is as stated (natural and untreated). That being said, I think with light-medium tone and medium saturation, you're going to see a less vibrant stone in person than what the listing photos/video are showing. I see some silk too, which doesn't bother me. Still, I think that's a great price for an unheated almost 9ct. sapphire. And if it ever does look anything like the photos for that price, it's a winner x2! Good luck!!

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Lotus is reliable but agree that how the sapphire looks in person is unlikely to match the video. Sellers always make sure to display their goods to the maximum positive view.
As for being the underbidder, are you being offered to buy at $8,000 (your highest bid) or $6,111 when you were the highest bidder aside from the non paying winning party?