shape
carat
color
clarity

Thoughts on these sapphires??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Wee_Spud

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I'm quite new to this (ok, I'm completely new to this), but in trying to design my engagement ring, I've discovered my inner magpie and boy, do I like colored shiny things!

I have my heart set on a sapphire engagement ring, but I'm in grad school and my fiance is in med school - realistically, I know we won't be purchasing the Hope Diamond or anything close. Ah, well.

I've pored over these forums and gone sapphire hunting at most of the recommended online jewellers, and I've found some that I think are quite pretty, and some that just... aren't. But then again, the photography on some sites is just much better than on others, so I'm not sure if it's entirely the stones or just fuzzy camera work?

Anyways, I pulled the photos from several different stones that I've been looking at, and I was just wondering if anyone with a bit of knowledge (so, pretty much anyone on this forum, it seems!! y'all know your stuff!) might be kind enough to tell me what they think of them??

To me, the AJS and DiamondExpert/Dutton'sDiamonds ones look, well, sparklier. Sparkly is good, right? Is the big blurry bit in the middle of C what y'all refer to as a 'window' or is it something else? And are the dark bits in G what y'all talk about as 'extinction' or is it just a darker colored stone? Can you tell I'm a complete newbie?

Are these ok stones, or is the magpie in me leading me astray?

A = http://www.ajsgems.com/gemstones/Sapphire/Blue-Sapphire-2049211621-2046340410.html
B = http://www.ajsgems.com/gemstones/Sapphire/Blue-Sapphire-2049212799-2046340410.html
C = http://www.ajsgems.com/gemstones/Sapphire/Blue-Sapphire-2049216492-2046340410.html
D = http://www.ajsgems.com/gemstones/Sapphire/Blue-Sapphire-2049216491-2046340410.html