shape
carat
color
clarity

The Things (some) Jewelers Say...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

niceice

Brilliant_Rock
Well, after some 25 years in the business, we thought we''d heard it all, but then this weekend a local restaurant owner walks in with his wife''s wedding ring and says "what do you think?"

"Have you got insurance?" I asked as I studied the severely damaged diamond... Practically 40% of the Crown was gone... The diamond had been set in a bar style channel set ring and the diamond had been set too high so that the crown sat well above the two gold bars which normally would have offered the top of the diamond some protection...

"No" he replied, but that''s not my question... "I bought this ring from Local Jeweler ''X'' who is a ''friend'' of mine and he assured me at the time that it was an excellent diamond..."

And there I sat staring at what had probably been an I-1, light topolite at best trying to find something ''soothing'' to say about the situation... "Well, it''s kind of difficult to ascertain at the moment, but let''s talk about your options..."

I explained that since the diamond weighed about a third of a carat that it might fall under the general coverage of a standard homeowner''s policy (some policies offer general coverage to $1,500.00 or so) and recommended that he talk to his agent... And off he went...