shape
carat
color
clarity

The cut

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

meow4444

Rough_Rock
Hi,

I am a complete novice to the diamond business.

I understand that other than the clarity, colour and carat, it is very important to look at the cut too. A cert will give me the table and depth. But I am not sure if that is going to make me feel comfortable about spending a few grand? Are there anything else I should look out for?

I have not bought a diamond before. Is it too much to ask for a sarin report to determine the crown and pavilion?

Can someone help?!?

:((

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
No, it's not unreasonable at all to ask for complete information on an item you're spending thousands of dollars on.

If they don't have a Sarin report, ask them if they could have one done, or have a gemologist measure the stone.

Alternatively, you could have it done by a gemologist when you get indepenent confirmation of the diamond.

meow4444

Rough_Rock
Thanks Richard. Being able to request for a sarin report even before commiting myself to buying is brilliant.

Would you be able to cast some light on my diamond search and tell me in your opinion, what are the ideal proportions for a 1.01 round?

Also I like the Tiffany 4-prong platinum ring setting. What would be the price I have to pay in NYC?

Thanks a million!

:wink2:

Rook

Shiny_Rock
"or have a gemologist measure the stone. "

How easy is it for a gemologist to accurately measure the stone to give the information provided on a Sarin report?

meow4444

Rough_Rock
I found a dealer who readily agreed to provide sarin reports!! (although many just dismissed me perhaps because I am not 'serious' in buying yet)

Another question - Is there much difference in a VS1 versus a VS2? The price hike is quite substantial - $1000 or more for a 1.01 round. Should I just get a smaller stone and choose a VS1 instead of a bigger stone with VS2?

:twirl:

Rhino