shape
carat
color
clarity

Suggestions for possibly buying an uncertified stone

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

bk_photo

Rough_Rock
Hello,
I am new to this forum and looking for some opinions on uncertified diamonds. There is a local jeweler that has been recommended by several people I know, they have had work done there and are satisfied. I am looking to purchase an engagement ring from him or somewhere else sometime soon. I have seen good prices online but I think my GF would not like it if I bought a diamond online no matter how reputable the place. I am looking to spend in the $3000 range for the complete ring. I wish I could afford more but I am still a poor college student. I am looking for an emerald cut center stone probably in the .5 to .75 carat range. This jeweler has some nice looking stones but they are not certified. I was able to look at them under a microscope and the stone he showed me looked very clean even at 30x but how can I tell about the rest of the properties besides the clarity and color with it not being certified. His prices are better because the stones are not certified and also because he is a smaller store than some of the other places in town I have looked at. I don''t have any reason to distrust this jeweler but at the same time this is one of the biggest decisions I have ever made and I want to make sure I get a quality stone for my girl. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Brian

oldminer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Okay, you can buy an uncerted stone, BUT the seller must tell you what you are about to buy. This will at the very least include the EXACT CARAT WEIGHT, the GIA color grade and the GIA clarity grade. YOU NEED THIS IN WRITING AND ON THE BILL OF SALE. That is the bare MINIMUM.