shape
carat
color
clarity

sudden temperature change affecting sapphire?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

fontsizefive

Rough_Rock
Hi all, I've been lurking around for a while but decided to register today and post a question since I am now a newbie sapphire ring owner - my boyfriend proposed to me with a non heat treated sapphire ring last week :) I've been reading up about sapphire ring aftercare and they mentioned to avoid sudden changes to temperature. What does that mean? Will the ring be affected in certain situations, say for e.g. on board an airplane where there is strong altitude pressure and decrease in environmental temperature or if it comes into contact with a hair dryer while I am using it?

Any insight is greatly appreciated. Sorry if I am asking what may seem as redundant, I just want to make sure I am taking absolute good care of the engagement ring, he would be really upset with me if it cracked because I wasn't careful
7.gif

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
Huh, never really heard that before. If it helps I have worn my sapphire on planes, in winter (where I go from outside where it is often below 0 to inside where it's 60+ degrees), summer, etc. and have had no problems.

But I'm also curious to hear what more expert colored stone connoisseurs have to say...

Linda W

Super_Ideal_Rock
I have never heard that before either, but am interested to hear what the experts have to say also.

Linda

LostSapphire

Ideal_Rock
Date: 10/29/2008 9:28:58 PM
Author:fontsizefive