shape
carat
color
clarity

Square Cut Emearld

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

njchoochoo

Rough_Rock
I need some assistance. I was out looking at the maul stores to get an idea of ring prices and the like. I walked into one store, and was shown a square cut emearld. Face up it looked like a normal emerald cut. However, it was not nearly as...deep...for lack of a better word. It looked like the bottom of the emerald was cut off. Being a novice, I guess it didn''t have as many facets? I was also told it is "not" an asscher cut. As we are looking together for idea purposes, the future ring receiver liked the cut. This is the first I''ve heard of this stone. Any comments, concerns, etc..etc? Unfortunately, since this was just a look and see expedition, I didn''t get any measurements. My thanks in advance for your replies.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
This is a mysterious description... From this side, it could mean either that you saw #1) one of those not-so-nice cuts with an extremely flat table (so from the side the object looks like a pyramid pointing down) or #2) a "table cut" with a flat surface parallel with the table instead of a "tip". Both stones are weird, below standard variations of what an square emerald should be.

Just for reference, there are some standards devised for this cut (corresponding to what the industry considers a great cut, and looks great actually). The whole story and instructions for reading these standards can be found behind the "Fancy Shapes" link on the first page here. These are not Pricescope's concoction, and quite clearly stated so.

Also, some sellers specialize in offering these stones and you could find some alternatives to consider. One such place is Niceice - surely worse browsing for the optical analysis of the square emeralds posted there. It is a good lesson for the next shopping trip, even if you do not end up buying online at all.