shape
carat
color
clarity

Sparkle vs. Symmetry in H&A diamonds

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

orangutan

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

I am fairly new to the diamond buying experience, but have been researching it for the past week or so. A couple of questions:

1)In the Pricescope search, I found many Ideal H&A that met my criteria. My question was that even though all these diamonds are considered Ideal H&A, all that means is that you see hearts and arrows due to the symmetry of the diamond. However, the actual sparkle/brilliance/fire is determined by the crown and pavilion angles, correct?

2)Does that mean that one needs Sarin reports or Brilliancescope reports to determine how much each diamond will shine?

3)If two diamonds have the same symmetry and same measurements in terms of table and depth, is it still possible for one to be dull and the other to sparkle depending on the angles? What is the best way to confirm this, get Sarin reports on every diamond I''m interested in?

Sorry for the silly questions, but I''m new to this and there are >$1000 price variations for diamonds with identical color/quality and table/girdle measurements.

Thanks, look forward to hearing from y''all.
1.gif

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Trying to take the points in some order...

#3 is correct

#1 ans #2 would be better understood in one lump: the H&A pattern tells allot of things - great symmetry and facet proportions aranged such that optical properties give top "sparkle" to the stone. Not all RBCs proportions yield "correct" H&A patterns regardless of proportions (as you seem to imply in #1). There are no "dull" H&A diamonds (compared to non H&A). The pattern itself was no developed as an end in itself bu emmerged by chance from the effort to determine optimal cut proportions for maximum light return...