shape
carat
color
clarity

So, where does one find mint garnets anyway?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

beaujolais

Ideal_Rock
So, where does one find mint garnets anyway?

They don''t come up too much on web vendors sites, it seems. When they do, they are usually in shapes I''m not crazy about (ovals, trillions).

Thanks.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
True Merelani mints are pretty rare. Multicolour has some light saturated tsavorites that might qualify as minty in some arenas. The returns process is a major hassle if you don''t like it. Welborn on ebay has some light saturated ones as well.

MakingTheGrade

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
PS vendors have had them in the past (I remember seeing ones from Gene and Jeff white relatively recently). I agree though that they are fairly rare. Best bet might be to email them to see if they can find you one.

There are some listed here, though i have no experience with the site/vendor:
http://www.grangem.com/index.php?cPath=24

MrsDoubleP

Shiny_Rock
Jeff White has had this one on his site for a while now. It''s a good shape for a pendant.

GAR087f.jpg

PrecisionGem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
The above stone is very nice.

The mint garnets come from Tanzania, for the same area that Tanzanite is mined. My self, Roger, and Peter will be traveling to this area the end of June, and hope to see some nice pieces. Large sizes are rare, and expensive. Cut stones 1 ct and smaller are usually not a problem to find.

MakingTheGrade

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 5/29/2009 10:34:54 PM
Author: PrecisionGem

The mint garnets come from Tanzania, for the same area that Tanzanite is mined. My self, Roger, and Peter will be traveling to this area the end of June, and hope to see some nice pieces. Large sizes are rare, and expensive. Cut stones 1 ct and smaller are usually not a problem to find.