shape
carat
color
clarity

Shane Co Classic cut and Whiteflash A Cut Above Comparable?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Lynnchee

Shiny_Rock
Sorry about the double post everyone. I wanted to make sure readers knew what my topic was about in the title. I hope I don''t get into too much trouble. I don''t think I''m allowed to remove my own posts.

Anyway, I am a pricescope and diamond newbie. I''ll start by saying that pricescope is awesome. So many of you are super informative, friendly, and so helpful. Thank you all for the wealth of information. So, i am a hoping that I may find some reassurance here. I am excited, anxious and nervous about receiving my first custom Ritani engagement ring (also my very first diamond ring, ever)

It''s a Ritani Classic platinum engagement ring: .69 ctw single shared prong beaded diamond shank with prong set round center stone.

I am anxious and nervous, because, I worry if I have made the right decision about the center diamond.

I learned from Pricescope, Bluenile, and several other sources that I want to maximize cut. I want the best cut possible because that''s what gives the most brilliance, right?

So, I called Whiteflash and they found a .60 carat, "A Cut Above", G, VS1 for $2300 and the Ritani for $3700.

I wanted to spend $4000, so Whiteflash blows my budget out the water, but at least I reserved the loose diamond while I continued to shop around. However, I have never physically compared diamonds ever before. That''s where Shane Co. comes into play.

I went to a Shane Co. in Atlanta and they showed me over a dozen loose diamonds of varying color and clarity. They showed me on a white paper tray thing colors F - I, and the different levels of inclusions from VS1 - I1 through a loupe. It was very interesting and fun.