shape
carat
color
clarity

Rookie diamond buyer in St. Louis needs help

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

arf7ea

Rough_Rock
I am going to purchase a diamond engagement ring for my girlfriend and have never attempted to buy diamonds before. I have looked at a few places and think I understand the 4 C's. My thinking is:
cut- round brilliant
color- H or above
clarity- SI1 or above
carat- 1.0+

Can anyone recommend good shops in St. Louis and/or a trustworthy on-line seller? My budget is around $5000 but I will spend more if I absolutely have to. Can't go over too much though since I am a med student and it's all loan money to begin with. Thanks you for any store suggestions or buying tips you can give.

pricescope

Ideal_Rock
Hi Arf7ea,

, a member of this forum, has searched for a diamond in St. Louis too. He ended up buying online.[/u]

diamondnovice

Shiny_Rock
I did a search at some of the online sites that I have seen positively mentioned here. This is an excellent stone within your price range. It is from dirt cheap diamonds. It is AGS certed and a H&A ideal cut. It is a 1.03 H SI1 and it scored 0.3 (within TIC) on the HCA with 4 excellents (including spread). It lists for $4986. Here is a link. Good luck. :))

http://www.dirtcheapdiamonds.com/diamond_detail.cfm?did=1402774

diamondsman

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
:)) I think you can get a better quality stone for that price, I think that even a g.i.a cert is good enough as long as the measurements are withing the limits of a good make.I think you should buy on line from as they offer many incentives(such as a free solitaire,free shipping,and a return policy)a huge selection, and if it is not in your state you would save the sales tax.
(I am sure you could find a VS quality for that price):sun: compare and save!

diamondsman

www.buydiamonddirect.com
free 14kg setting,free overnight shipping,FREE GEMGUARD

student

Shiny_Rock