shape
carat
color
clarity

Rate Diamond and Setting Combo

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Cinemafreak

Rough_Rock
Ok, I am new at this and foudn this site today. I have some info on a diamond and setting(Ring and band). It is not all complete, but I would like a few opinions none the less. Here I go:

Diamond:
1.01 Carat
G Color
Depth 62.4
Table 57.0
No Floresence
VG Symmetry
G Polish
Thick to Very Thick Girdle

Settings:

Ring:
Platinum
Two rounds each next to Setting
3 smaller rounds in channel on each side

Band:
Three Rounds
3 smaller rounds in each channel on each side

Total daimond weight .74

TOTAL PRICE $6,800.00

pqcollectibles

Ideal_Rock
It's going to be tough for anyone to even give you a good guesstimate on value. The table size is good, but the total depth is just slightly over Ideal limits. Clarity will play a huge factor in pricing. In a quick check, I found comparable G, SI1's would run around $3500-$3800 or so for the center stone. The size, color, clarity, and cut quality of the side stones factor into the pricing on those as well. Platinum is at a premium right now, so a simple setting and band can run anywhere from $750-$1200 or so.

One thing I see with the center diamond that is an area of concern is the girdle. There is a pricing premium for hitting the 1 carat mark. A Thick to Very Thick girdle tells me the cutter was hiding weight to hit the price mark. Also, thick girdles are an area for light leakage causing the diamond to lack somewhat in performance,.... the sparklies. Light leaks out thru the girdle instead of being refracted back out to the viewer's eye. Also, with a thicker girdle, the diamond will probably look smaller than a well cut 1 carat. You might check the diameter measurements. A well cut 1 carat will have a diameter around 6.5mm.

Hope this helps.
1.gif

Cinemafreak

Rough_Rock