shape
carat
color
clarity

radiant help please

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

gretsch

Rough_Rock
hi-
i am looking for a square cut radiant and am most worried about getting a good cut. i don''t understand how to read the aga chart! i know, i am a total novice. i have advice from nicrez that it would be optimal for the depth and table to be under 70%. am i correct in saying that it is personal preference whether or not the table is greater than the depth? nicrez also said the table and depth should be within 3% of each other. is there any other advice or things i should watch out for with this kind of stone? thanks so much!

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
----------------
On 4/2/2004 2:52:37 AM gretsch wrote:

am i correct in saying that it is personal preference whether or not the table is greater than the depth?

----------------

No really... while there is no public statement that one cannot get a seriously brilliant square rad with 80% table, all stones listed with great light return (around here, at least) abide by this, and tables a tad smaller than depth is what I remember. Also, the cut guidelines of the branded radiant go this way too. Even if you do not end up buying a branded stone, those proportiosn might be of use - after all the radiant brand was developed for improved presence and optics, and it makes a good benchmark when one needs to shop by numbers first and see stones after...

With all the hunting Nicrez did and the result
1.gif
, her advice is dead on!

About he AGA - you may want to use their interface AGA DIY Cut Grading and get the cut grade generated automatically.

The proportions of the branded rad are describe (HERE)

Nicrez

Ideal_Rock