shape
carat
color
clarity

Question on Lab Reports - When are they necessary?

TwilightBlue

Rough_Rock
I’m just getting into buying loose gemstones. At what price point should I expect a lab report for a gemstone?

tkyasx78

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
If it is worth more than the gold setting, I would require a lab report.

most gold settings run over 300$

so tossing a topaz in a ss setting total cost 250 ? - no lab report needed

getting a tanzanite set in a 14k setting cost is over 500 , get a report!

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think lab reports are most necessary for rubies and sapphires.
I think if you’re buying rubies or sapphires of decent size (not melee) you want to be paying under $50 for what you expect to be lab made or treated to the hilt, or you spend proper money and always get a lab report.
With most other coloured gems its not such an issue ie getting a lab report, they might be heated but glass filling etc is unlikely.
But you need to educate yourself first about gems you might want to buy - for eg that almost all blue topaz is heated, likewise Tanzanite, Citrine is also heated, there are now synthetic opals, they treat or lab make Quartz these days and pass it off as all variety of other gemstones.
You have to learn what is a good gem is with a corresponding good price.
A 2 carat Ceylon sapphire, say $4,000 - a 2 carat Kashmir closer to $20,000! . So a 2 carat vivid blue “Kashmir” (no lab report confirming origin) sapphire for $6,000 is much more likely an overpriced Ceylon rather than an underpriced Kashmir!
If you’re buying off a reputable vendor you can assume the gems you buy are as stated. If you buy off eBay, some gem auctions, some Etsy sellers you can be misled if not outright deceived.
A gem brief costs just under $100, if I was spending $500 or more on a gem I would expect a lab report or get my own, so I would only buy from a vendor with a no fuss return policy.

strawrose

Brilliant_Rock