shape
carat
color
clarity

Question about diamond quality

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ringgal2006

Rough_Rock
I am very new to pricescope so thank you in advance for your help and opinions regarding a possible diamond....

My boyfriend and I went looking for rings about three weeks ago and we came across the following diamond:

Carat: 1.93
Color: G
Clarity: SI2
Cut: IDEAL
Shape: Round
Depth %: 60.2
Table %: 55
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Very Good
Fluorescence: None
Measurements: 8.09*8.13*4.88
Lab: GIA

I looked at the diamond and you cannot see the inclusions and the color is good when compared to other diamonds of similar cut and size. The only reason I ask about this particular diamond is that fact that the price is really reasonable (approx. $14000) for a diamond of its size. I am a "newbie" to the diamond industry and want to make sure we are getting a quality diamond.

Again, thank you so much for your opinions. I really appreciate it!

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Welcome
35.gif

So far it looks promising, but we need the crown and pavillion angles to tell more. Can you post these?

ringgal2006

Rough_Rock
Thank you, Lorelei.

The crown angle is 31
The pavillion angle is 40.8

JulieN

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's shallow, but that doesn't mean it's not a nice stone. Would explain the price, though.

Girdle thickness?

ringgal2006

Rough_Rock
The GIA report says that it has a medium - slightly thick (faceted) girdle.

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The crown and pav angles obviously work well to tell you it is a pretty diamond, also it scored well on the HCA, despite the shallow crown angle. The girdle is fine - I prefer thin to slightly thick, but this is my preference. It isn's a superdouperlouper cut as is said
9.gif