shape
carat
color
clarity

Question about acquiring estate jewelry

ColinMartin

Rough_Rock
Hi Everyone. Been reading this forum for years and need advice.

I've been wanting to open an estate jewelry store for some time now. I have many years of retail jewelry experience so this is a move motivated by passion. But I have no idea where to find estate jewelry I can acquire for resale. For the life of me, I've looked at pawn shops, estate jewelry auctions and sales, thrift stores, garage sales and even put ads out to look through people's used stuff, but I never really find anything that isn't already marked up at full retail. Does anyone have advice of where they find such pieces??

Btw, I'm 3/4 of the way through my GIA G.G. diploma. I'm confident that I can spot plenty of real and unique jewelry and have the gemological equipment to identify it. Thank you for your time!

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Pawn shops seem to be where I find the most promising items for resale. That means however that you will probably have to venture into some of the grittier neighborhoods because that's where people are mostly pawning and not buying. You still have to play the game though and get them down as low as you can, that means not rocking any major bling of your own and possibly walking out the door if they don't want to play ball and possibly going back another day to try again.

I aim for 20-30% off their asking price, sometimes you just have to ask and other times they make you work for it.

Matilda

Shiny_Rock
hi! so I will second what @StephanieLynn said...grittier neighbourhoods. and dress LOW PROFILE. blend in or look unassuming