shape
carat
color
clarity

Purchasing estate jewellery vs loose stones and then setting

syd

Shiny_Rock
Hello, I'm new to the CS forum although have been around in the diamond and pearl forums over the past few years. I'm starting to get interested in acquiring some pieces of CS jewellery. I'm talking about heirloom quality jewellery that I will eventually pass on to my girls... and pieces that I receive to mark significant events e.g. milestone anniversaries.

I've started researching about criteria in picking CS, but still have a lot to read. One of my initial questions: what is "better" purchasing pre-loved jewels from estate vendors or building your own piece by picking a stone and having it set? Based on initial browsing around, the prices seem much better for pre-loved jewels. I've looked at the main vendor sites recommended by members of pricescope... Please tell me about your experiences?! What are the pitfalls, things to look out for?

Thanks in advance!

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
Re: Purchasing estate jewellery vs loose stones and then set

I find it very difficult to find a CS with the characterics I want, in a setting I like, at a reasonable price. I find that most CS estate jewely in my area holds poor color/cut CSs, or carries prices that assume no or minimal treatment.

In the absence of a good return policy, there may be some financial risk if you pay assuming that you are getting X (e.g. natural, untreated), but it ends up being Y (synthetic or highly treated) which is less valuable. Otherwise, I think this is good way of purchasing stones. Many of the frequented CS vendors do not sell calibrated stones, therefore a custom setting is usually required, which costs $$$.