shape
carat
color
clarity

Purchase Advise Please

neuroguy

Rough_Rock
Hi,

This is my first time purchasing a diamond so bear with me. I am looking to buy an engagement ring/diamond and I'm particularly looking for an ethically traded diamond. This brought me to look at diamonds from Botswana (Day's Jewelery in Maine). I found a .75 ct diamond going for 2,965.
and GIA:
Shape and Cutting Style ..................... Round Brilliant
Measurements............. ............... 5.81 - 5.84 x 3.64 mm
Carat Weight ......................... ...................... 0.75 carat
Color Grade ......................... ......................... ............ H
Clarity Grade.................... ......................... .............. SI1
Cut Grade ......................... ......................... Very Good
Clarity Characteristics ......................... ... Twinning Wisp
Finish
Polish ......................... ......................... ........ Excellent
Symmetry ......................... ......................... ... Excellent
Fluorescence ......................... ......................... ...... None

also

I was thinking of getting a better diamond clarity wise but if this rock is eye clean I might jump on it. Any thoughts? Is this a reasonable price? Does anyone have any experience with Day's Jewelery or Botswana Diamonds?

GCAL202240032.jpg

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am not familiar with that jeweler. We ordinarily recommend GIA and AGS as the most reputable grading labs. There are vendors here who only deal with ethically traded diamonds. I would feel confident with WhiteFlash and Brian Gavin because they actually have their own stones cut and know the source of their stones. I would also not be concerned about this with Good Old Gold.

We generally recommend cut grades of excellent with GIA or ideal with AGS. But in order to give opinions on a stone, we'd need all the stone measurements including crown and pavilion angles, table, and depth.

Dreamer_D