shape
carat
color
clarity

Private vs Public schools?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

TravelingGal

Super_Ideal_Rock
Any thoughts on this? As TGuy and I come to a fork in the road, we have to decide some things. One of them is private vs public schools.

I''m a believer in public schools. But the areas with good schools are still a bit out of our price range. So I wonder, would be better to move to a nice area that isn''t the BEST, and then put the kid in private school? And what makes a "good" school anyway? We could save a lot of money buying a home that''s a nice, but not the best, area.

What are your thoughts on public vs private? With California''s budget cuts, the gap may get wider and wider....

Haven

Super_Ideal_Rock
Oh, boy. I'm just going to say this:

About a year into working as a public school teacher, I decided that I do not want to send my future children to public school.

There. I admitted it.

I'm not sure about private school, either. It all depends on the school, and the child, of course.

The ideal? One of those outrageously old-moneyed educations, a la Amory Blaine in This Side of Paradise. You know--drag the kid all over Europe and South America. spend a lot of time with interesting, cultured, borderline crazy intellectuals and artistes. Put him on a sailboat every now and then. Surround him with good literature and intriguing artwork. Expose him to several languages. See what happens.

Helpful, right?

Pandora II

Ideal_Rock
If I can afford it then Daisy will be going to a private school. The state schools in my area aren''t just bad - they''re frightening.

Unfortunately it''s very expensive here for private education - a top school will cost around £28k GBP a year per child!
23.gif
However there are some all-girls schools here in London that are more affordable.