shape
carat
color
clarity

Posting from Afghanistan

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Sage1982

Rough_Rock
Greetings Everyone,

This is my first post and I''d like to introduce myself. I''m a total amature when it comes to diamonds and other precious stones but I''ve begun learning a bit about them in the last year. I have been working in Afghanistan for over 2 years now, Kandahar to be exact, and I stumbled across various shops selling gems in local bazaars. So far I have only bought red rubies ranging from 15-25$ per karat. My intention is to take them to Germany where I live and sell them there to jewelers for profit.

I have steady access to stones here and I''m starting to get interested in blue and green Saphires as well.

Any advice from you all would be greatly appreciated. So far I''ve only spent a couple hundred dollars at a time when I buy. If anyone could advise me on what stone would reap the most profit for me when I attempt to sell in Germany, I''d really appreciate your proffessional advice.

I have also bought Diamonds for personal wear from Dubai, mostly VS Princess cut jewelry ranging from 1.5 to 2.5 ct set in white gold. If anyone is interested in pictures of my stones, jewelry or pictures from the Afghan bazaar shops and their wares, let me know and I''ll gladly take some and post them.

V/R
Brian S.

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
I hate to say this, but my advice is don't get into colored gems unless you REALLY know what you are doing. There are no amazing deals for people buying a few hundred dollars worth of things at a time, and MANY chances to be ripped off. No matter what country you are in. Whatever you do, don't invest a lot of $ without getting things independently appraised and/or testing the market in Germany...

LostSapphire

Ideal_Rock
Date: 8/9/2008 11:28:21 AM
Author: neatfreak