shape
carat
color
clarity

Please help with diamond specs!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sapphyre

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone, I have been doing some diamond research and have been reading these forums for a couple days now. ( My eyes hurt from all the reading and seeing all the bling!)

My boyfriend and I are looking for a diamond for my engagement ring. My friend''s mother is able to get diamonds at a cheaper price through her friend that owns a jewelry store. My friend recently got engaged and got a beautiful ring though them as well.
Now I am a complete noob at this diamond thing because I always thought it ended with the 4C''s. After doing some research, it clearly is not. Not knowing all this info ( I still have much to learn though!) I just gave some specs of what I wanted in the diamond... but only of the 4C''s. I wanted a round brilliant 1.00 carat, no lower than VS1, ideal cut and color no lower than G. That is what I told my friend''s mother to tell her friend to find my diamond. She said they would call me when they found a couple of diamonds for me to come in to compare. My friend also convinced my that I shouldn''t go lower for clarity than a VVS1 because she claims she can see the cloudiness in them any lower than that, but that seems to be wrong also after reading these forums.

Now I am kind of worried after reading through these forums because that doesn''t tell a lot of the quality.

What kind of other details should I tell them so that I get a good quality diamond. In terms of specs for table diameter, crown angle, pavillon angle, polish and anything else that I missed, what are "ideal" or an ideal range in each of these and other important factors of a diamond? I am fascinated by the hearts and arrows!
I apologize if this had been touched on these forums but I am going cross-eyed reading on my computer for the past 6 hours!
6.gif