shape
carat
color
clarity

Pearl newbie interested in buying my own first strand

MeganShannon11

Shiny_Rock
Hi! I have been a Pricescoper and diamond lover for years, but I am new to pearls. Other than the basic white pearls inherited from my Grandma (I’m not sure what kind they are), I don’t own any pearls. If I wanted a necklace on the longer side (18-20 inches) and multi colored or colored (versus white) with small pearls, where should I start? My budget would probably be $500 or preferably less.

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I suggest you look into multicolored freshwater pearls. (I am referring to naturally colored pearls, not dyed.)

One good source is Pearl Paradise; I have bought many things from them.
Here is a link to their multicolored pearls:

MeganShannon11

Shiny_Rock
Any thoughts on what color I should start with for freshwaters? Do the pastel multi colored ones read “older”? I am looking at those and also lavenders and peaches. I’m 40 for context.

Attachments

• 79BC6131-23B3-465F-8FF9-E79C841C210E.jpeg
    79BC6131-23B3-465F-8FF9-E79C841C210E.jpeg
    187.9 KB · Views: 31

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
Any thoughts on what color I should start with for freshwaters? Do the pastel multi colored ones read “older”? I am looking at those and also lavenders and peaches. I’m 40 for context.

JMHO but peach might not show up well on your skin, especially if it's a pale shade of peach/pink. I could see medium to dark lavender being perfect, either pink or blue toned.

Personally, I guess I just don't like the multicolored strands. I have bought a couple through the years, necklaces and bracelets and always ended up getting rid of them. From a short distance, to me they usually just look kind of messy or something. But of course that's just me.