shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions on Two Stones - Steep/Deep Issue

juniper2012

Rough_Rock
Hello all. I apologize as I am a relative newbie at evaluating diamonds, but I've been looking at two round brilliant diamonds for an engagement ring and I was hoping to get some advice. Both are GIA certified diamonds that are approx 1.5 carats, SI1, rated triple excellent by GIA, with no flourescence, but I got a poor HCA score of 4.7 on the G colored stone. The proportions for the two stones are below, taken from the GIA reports. I'm being offered the G stone at about $800 more than the H stone as part of package with a wedding band, so was thinking of taking it, but not sure anymore because HCA score seems pretty bad. Weird thing is the G stone seemed to sparkle a lot and looked whiter in the store than the H stone. Is the G stone a bad steep/deep stone and would you recommend against it?

First Stone
Color: H
Depth: 60.8%
Table: 55%
Crown Angle: 33.5°
Crown Height: 15.0%
Pavilion Angle: 41.0°
Pavilion Depth: 43.0%
Star Length: 55%
Lower Half: 75%
Girdle: Thin to Medium, Faceted (2.5%)
Culet: None

Second Stone
Color: G
Depth: 62.1%
Table: 57%
Crown Angle: 34.5°
Crown Height: 15.0%
Pavilion Angle: 41.4°
Pavilion Depth: 44.0%
Star Length: 55%
Lower Half: 80%
Girdle: Thin to Medium, Faceted (3.0%)
Culet: None

Amys Bling

Super_Ideal_Rock
First off- jewelry lighting is very forgiving. I'd make sure to view the stones in more natural lighting as well.

Personally, I wouldn't go for a 4.7 on the HCA when spending that kind of money. Especially in an ERing stone I'd be staring down at all day :) how was the HCA on the other stone

juniper2012

Rough_Rock
The HCA score on the H stone was 0.9 Excellent. But for whatever reason, when I looked at that H stone in the store and on the street in natural lighting, it seemed a little dull, with dark spots around the center. The G stone also looked pretty good when I saw it.