shape
carat
color
clarity

Non-fluorescent diamond looks blue in the sun!?

Willay

Rough_Rock
So I'm a newbie but been lurking around for a few months.

I bought this diamond after several exchanges:
http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-search?track=head#diamonds_pid=LD02681709

The diamond looks fantastic in almost all lighting. However, when I bring it into direct sunlight (like noon on a cloudless day) it turns this violet/blue color. The GIA certificate says "fluorescence: none" and I have confirmed the lasar inscription on the girdle and I have also put the diamond under black light to make sure there is no fluorescence. Am I just seeing the sky? Is this unusual for a well cut diamond?

Please let me know what you think.

Enerchi

Super_Ideal_Rock
Can you post a picture of what you see on a sunny cloudless day? odds are, it could very well be just a reflection of the sky - or what you are wearing that day...

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Blue sky = blue diamond ;))

webdiva

Brilliant_Rock
My no fluor, E color diamond does that...reflecting the sky!

Willay

Rough_Rock
Thanks for the responses...I'll try to get a picture within the next day or two.

Does anyone have ideas why it turns a violet/blue color instead of the light blue that I see in the sky?

TitanCi

Brilliant_Rock
Probably a combo of it turning dark in the direct sun and reflection of sky?

Willay

Rough_Rock
Some images of my stone at the office...will try to get some outside pictures soon

photo-3_3.jpg

photo-3-1.jpg

0-0-0

Brilliant_Rock
If a stone looks blue in the sun due to blue fluorescence the entire stone takes on a blue body tint when viewed from the side. If the stone only looks blue face up in the sun most likely it's just a reflection of the sky.

Willay

Rough_Rock
thbmok|1344908353|3250998 said: