shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie - seeking help!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Porridge

Ideal_Rock
Hi everyone!
35.gif
I have been a longtime lurker and adorer of PS! I come here to drool and get invaluable advice most days when I should be studying/working :) This is my first time posting here, so I''ll give a short introduction and background! My fiance proposed to me a couple of months ago with a beautiful but temporary ring (silver Claddagh for any of you fellow Irish girls/boys!) So now we''re looking for the perfect ring. We have a budget of about $7500. I am in love with the classic tiffany solitaire with channel set band. So, armed with our new PS knowledge, we have been searching for the perfect diamond! We can get the setting for about $1,500. I am hoping to get a G/VS1 with the best cut possible for about $6000. FI is currently working with a dealer in New York, a relative, so I hope it will be possible to get around 1.1 - 1.2 carats with these specs. My FI isn''t disclosing too much about how the search is going, I got to pick the setting etc and now he feels the rest is up to him!

Now for my questions - it''s not that I don''t trust darling FI to get the perfect ring, but I can''t help looking myself (borderline obsessively!) and I was wondering if someone could tell me how much of a difference is there between "excellent" and "very good" when it comes to cut, polish and symmetry? I know from reading that cut should not be sacrificed. Are polish and symmetry just as important? And, do you think the diamond specs I''ve listed are reasonable to expect for that price, with excellent cut?

Thanks in advance for all your previous and (hopefully) future help! I''m so looking forward to becoming a bone fide, picture posting, active member of PS!

1.gif

Porridge

Ideal_Rock
Oops I wrote VS1, I meant SI1

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 11/7/2008 5:16:53 PM
Author:Porridge