shape
carat
color
clarity

newbie needs suggestion

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

fongrx7

Rough_Rock
hi, every one, I am a newbie in this forum. since I might be in the market for a e-ring(don''t know when), I figure that I should have done some search and get some good suggestions first. basically, I have learned about the 4Cs, what those numbers mean on the paper, and blah, blah. and also, I have leaned that getting a certified diamond is good to start with, like from GIA.
here are some questions in mind:

1)wonder if it is safe to buy from online store. some threads say that some online stores they don''t actually have the stones. they will get it from some where else, when you place order.
2)if buy online, could they give you another diamond, instead the one you see online. like, how do you know that is the diamond shows on the report?
3)could the certification be fake? like it is just a very good color copy?

yah, you can always send the diamond to check. but by the time you get the results back, the online store might be gone already. you know, it is so easy to open an online store today.

sounds like stupid questions. but need to know.

thanks
twirl.gif

Rank Amateur

Brilliant_Rock
If you want the cheapest deal, you may well end up buying a stone off a database that many many vendors have access to. This saves them the cost of investing in the stone for their own stock. I'll say that most internet vendors work this way. There are expections of course, some vendors have both an internet presence and an actual store. A few are net-only but still stock their own stones.