shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie looking for help to purchase oval diamond

zosch

Rough_Rock
Hi everybody,

My name is Max and I'm fairly new to the diamond game (And with fairly I mean total beginner :confused: ) However, it's that time of my life that I started looking for a center stone for my girlfriend's engagement ring. Luckily, she really wants to be part of process so I have to do a little bit less guessing :angel:

After doing some initial research and talking to her, I was able to slightly narrow it down to the following specs:

Shape: Oval
Color: I+
Cut: The oval equivalent to a round 'Ideal' cut or better - Somewhere around: Table 53%-64%, 58%-66% Depth, 1.35-1.5 Ratio, Very Thin-thick Girdle (However, given that there are no real norms, I was hoping to follow your recommendations)
Clarity: VS2+
Carat: Flexible but I was hoping to land somewhere around 2.2c (With 2c being the minimum if feasible with my budget)

Budget: I was planning to allocate around $14.5k-$17k for the stone (If possible with the specs above). I'd love to stay under my max. budget but am willing to compromise for that perfect stone.

Please note that I arrived at those spec mostly from my research so I'm totally open to suggestions what aspects are less important or if I should prioritize differently.

So far, I found two stones that I believe are fitting my criteria:

1) https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/oval-cut/2.27-carat-i-color-vvs2-clarity-sku-2539062

2) http://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/oval-cut-loose-diamond-3719466.htm

Especially the one from JA seems like a great fit (Unfortunately it's located overseas and the JA rep couldn't provide me with an ASET).

I hope this is enough info to get started. I welcome any kind of feedback and really appreciate you guys helping me out!

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The JA stone is lovely...nice choice. It will have a black arrow going through the center when you look at it straight on. Some people