shape
carat
color
clarity

Newbie help (pink sapphire: cushion or emerald?)

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Gempassion

Shiny_Rock
Hi All,

I am new to pricescope. I''m buying my first piece of fine jewellery and I''ve settled on a pink-sapphire right hand ring.

I''m debating between a hot pink emerald cut versus a cushion cut.

I think that the color pink goes great with the romance of an antique cushion cut. But I love the clarity and elegance of emeralds.

The only concern that I have is: Are emeralds very difficult to keep clean?

Let me know what you think...
Thank you!

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
You are likely to find a smaller selection of step cut sapphires compared to a cushion cut. Also, a cushion cut will show more brilliance and liveliness due to the style of faceting over a step cut stone.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I’m not sure why but your link is only bringing me to the front/home page.

Kismet

Ideal_Rock
This is the emerald shape.

The_Natural_Sapphire_Company--Pink-P568.jpg

Kismet

Ideal_Rock
And the cushion. (and wow those are big pictures)

The_Natural_Sapphire_Company--Pink-P2346.jpg

Novel

Brilliant_Rock

RockHugger

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I like the emerald. But I love emerald cuts. They are co classy.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Why I would choose the cushion over the step cut:
1. Colour: the cushion appears to have better saturation (eye popping colour)
2. Depth: the 1 ct cushion faces up decently at 67% while the 1.4 ct EC will look about the same size despite the larger carat weight because of its 82% depth
3. Cut: the cutting on the cushion makes it more likely to appear lively and sparkly.

I do have a puzzler though on the cushion. It stated the clarity as IF/VVS1 but wonder about the “lines” I see here and there, mostly on the left side of the stone. I wonder if those are rutile inclusions or marks from poor polishing.

Gempassion

Shiny_Rock